Mother’s Day Brunch

Brunch is probably my favorite way to entertain. The perfect time of day for kids, so many food options and it is a great way to entertain guests. I’ve been planning the brunch I will be cooking this Sunday to celebrate Mother’s Day with just my little family of four but I have found so many wonderful recipes, I figured I should put a post together and share some of them.

A good brunch should include a lovely punch- you decide if an alcoholic version is right for your guest lists, a sweet dish, a savory dish and a good cold side dish.

Let’s start with a sweet dish. These Oatmeal Bars are crunchy and sweet. Make them extra special with a Barry Compote. YUM.

b&p-oatmeal-bars-berry-compote-post

Get the recipes at the links below:

Oatmeal Bars

Mixed Berry Compote

Another great topping for these Oatmeal Bars is melted Nutella or chocolate sauce!

Next up- something savory. When I think brunch my mind happily trails off to thoughts of yummy sausage! Sausage and Pepper Brunch pizza is delicious. I tried this recipe out last week and I am in love with it. My kiddos requested it for this weekend as well.

sausagepepperbrunch

This recipes is at the link below:

Sausage and Pepper Brunch Pizza

The recipe calls for grand flaky biscuits and that made the perfect crust. I attempted the same recipe with regular canned biscuits and the texture just didn’t work. The larger fluffier biscuit dough is a must!

Side dishes at brunch should be light and versatile. Sometimes it is hard to choose something that goes well with both sweet and savory dishes. This one is perfect! Orange Vanilla Glazed Fruit Salad is bright, refreshing and DELICIOUS. It is SO easy to make. I made no changes to this recipe. It was wonderful.

glazed-fruit-salad-pin-FINAL

Orange Vanilla Glazed Fruit Salad

On to drinks. I scoured Pintrest for a delicious punch…and I found it. The site called it Royal Wedding Brunch Punch and I just loved it. Super fruity and sweet. It was just perfect. I can’t wait to serve it to my kids on Sunday.

punch

Get the recipe here:

Royal Wedding Brunch Punch

I will be serving it in a trifle bowl in champagne glasses. I’m also going to top with with a few scoops of orange sherbet!

If you are more of a partier than I am and would like a little kick with your brunch, try this:

blackberrypunch

Blackberry Vodka Punch

This cocktail would go wonderfully with those Oatmeal Bars and Mixed Berry Compote!

This is a simple brunch menu. I don’t like to make things complicated on Sundays. I hope one of these recipes work well for you and your guests. Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

